Local woman could give birth to her second child in midst of snowstorm

This article can be found published on the Daily Local News‘ website.
Alyssa Sammartino and her 2-year-old daughter, Annabelle. (Alyssa Sammartino)

Alyssa Sammartino and her 2-year-old daughter, Annabelle. (Alyssa Sammartino)

When word started of a possible blizzard heading directly for the Philadelphia area, Alyssa Sammartino couldn’t believe her luck.

As the snow accumulation totals continually increased throughout the week for the impending storm to hit Friday night, she was scheduled for a C-section Monday morning to deliver her second child.

“I’ve been pretty nervous about it because just a week ago, I was in the hospital having contractions and then they stopped, so there were no signs of labor then,” she said. “Then I hear there’s all this snow coming and I was like, ‘I hope I don’t go into labor this weekend and hopefully if I do we can get there so I don’t get stuck on the side of the road and have a baby.’”

The situation is nothing new for the 21-year-old as two years ago, during another snowstorm, she delivered her first child.

…[Please continue the story on the Daily Local News website by clicking here.]

“The funny thing is two years ago when I had my first daughter, we drove to the hospital in the middle of a huge snowstorm because I was going to have her,” Sammartino said. “The entire time we’ve been joking that if we get snow, I’m going to have my baby. It’s kind of been like a running joke.”

For the moment, as the blizzard hits the area hard with possible record-breaking accumulation, Sammartino will play the waiting game at her home in Exton.

On a normal day, it would only take Sammartino 15 to 20 minutes to get to the Chester County Hospital in West Chester. However, with the weather conditions as they are, that time could double, if not triple, depending on roadways.

“If we can’t get some place, then we’ll have to call an ambulance and hope that it all happens in time,” she said. “Hopefully nothing major happens this weekend and I’ll be able to get to the hospital as planned Monday morning and everything goes well.”

Tags: ,

Categories: Community, Features

Subscribe & Connect

Subscribe to Candice's RSS feed and connect to her social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

