Pielli, Purnell, Meakim win in West Goshen

This article can be found published on the Daily Local News‘ website.
(Daily Local News)

(Daily Local News)

WEST CHESTER — It was as close a race as you could possibly get for the second of two open seat for supervisor in West Goshen Township as Republican Hugh Purnell, Jr., squeaked by fellow Republican Jeffrey Laudenslager by a single vote in the general election Tuesday night.

Purnell received 2,000 votes to win a spot on the board, while Laudenslager came in third with 1,999 votes.

The two, running as a team, won the Republican primary over Robert Little and incumbent Ted Murphy.

“I want to take a look at what’s going on in the township and seeing what I can assist with,” Laudenslager said after the primary win in May. “We’re a great township, but there are things we can make even better. I think the public really warmed to the idea of both Hugh and I being possibly added to the team and working for West Goshen resident.”

…[Please continue the story on the Daily Local News website by clicking here.]

Though the count is not yet final, if it remains a loss by one vote or more, Laudenslager has said he will not seek a recount.

The other open seat was won by Democrat Chris Pielli, who received 2,086 votes – the most of any of the candidates.

“I just want to thank all of my supporters — Independents, Republicans and Democrats — who looked past party labels and put their trust in me,” Pielli said. “It is truly humbling and I am very grateful for their support … I believe the more inclusive we are within the community, the more effective we can be in overcoming whatever obstacles we may face now or in the future. With that in mind, I will work hard with all of my colleagues to insure an open and transparent government accessible to all.”

Barbara Kipp Stone, Pielli’s Democratic counterpart, tallied 1,765 votes in the election.

Pielli already has ideas in mind for when he takes his seat on the board.

“We currently face some important fiscal and quality-of-life issues that need to be addressed now rather than face dire consequences later,” he said. “Yes, we live in a fantastic township and I want to keep it that way and improve it by dealing with our challenges head-on so that we can keep enjoying the wonderful West Goshen we all know and love.

“I look forward to serving our township. I hope to earn the trust of not only those who have supported me, but all of our residents.”

The Democrat also took time to thank the people closest to him for enduring the challenges of a campaign.

“I want to thank my wife Christine and my two children,” Campaigning is hard. It’s stressful and time consuming, but their love and support helped me through it all. I could not have done it without them.”

For the unexpired four-year term seat, incumbent Republican Edward Meakim, Jr., won with 2,263 votes over Democrat Geoff Wilkinson’s 1,847.

All results are unofficial until certified.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Community, Political

Subscribe & Connect

Subscribe to Candice's RSS feed and connect to her social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

