2014 Frozen Four: Championships practice, awards

82 - GaudreauPHILADELPHIA — A day after the thrilling semifinals games, Union College and the University of Minnesota were back on the ice, but just for practice (as per usual, videos available below).

But it seemed everyone was more concerned with the two awards handed out over the day – one in the morning, one in the evening.

The first ever Mike Richter award was handed out to the most outstanding goaltender in NCAA men’s hockey. Richter and former Philadelphia Flyer Bernie Parent were in attendance to hand out the award to this year’s recipient, Connor Hellebuyck of UMass Lowell. Full story here.

In the evening, an invitation-only crowd gathered at the Loews Hotel in center city Philadelphia for the presentation of the 2014 Hockey Humanitarian Award and the 2014 Hobey Baker Award.

The Hockey Humanitarian Award went to Jeffrey Reppucci, a senior at Holy Cross. He couldn’t play this season for his team due to a career-ending injury, but he instead become a student assistant team for the coach and continued his work off the ice helping others in countries around the world.

The finalists for the award were: Alyssa Gagliardi (Cornell University), Danielle Rancourt (University of Vermont), Joe Rogers (University of Notre Dame) and Jocelyn Simpson (Colgate University).

Then the award everyone was waiting for: The Hobey Baker.

The Hat Trick Finalists were Greg Carey, a senior forward from St. Lawrence University, Nic Dowd, a senior forward from St. Cloud State University, and Johnny Gaudreau, a junior forward from Boston College.

It came as no surprise to many that Gaudreau, one day removed from being knocked out of the Frozen Four tournament, won the award. And just a couple hours later, went ahead and signed with the Calgary Flames.

The additional top 10 finalists for the Hobey Baker were: Josh Archibald (University of Nebraska-Omaha), Ryan Dzingel (Ohio State University), Shayne Gostisbehere (Union College), Kevin Hayes (Boston College), CJ Motte (Ferris State University), Joel Rumpel (University of Wisconsin) and Adam Wilcox (University of Minnesota).

Read the full story on Gaudreau winning the Hobey Baker award here.

Photo gallery of the day’s events at the end.


From left to right: Head coach Don Lucia, senior forward Nate Condon, senior defenseman Jake Parenteau and junior forward Kyle Rau.


From left to right: Head coach Rick Bennett, senior defenseman Mat Bodie, junior defenseman Shayne Gostisbehere and senior forward Cole Ikkala.


From left to right: Mike Richter, Bernie Parent and Connor Hellebuyck.




This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: College Sports, Frozen Four, Ice Hockey, Sports

Subscribe & Connect

Subscribe to Candice's RSS feed and connect to her social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: