Player spotlight: Kyle Neuber

This article can be found published in the April issue of Center Ice Hockey Magazine and on their website.
Reading Royals Kyle Neuber (Candice Monhollan)

Reading Royals Kyle Neuber (Candice Monhollan)

Kyle Neuber, a native of London, Ontario, is in his first season as a Reading Royal. He spent four years in the OHL with the Toronto St. Michael’s Majors and Sarnia Sting, accumulating 526 penalty minutes in 199 games.

Neuber played in one game with the Royals this season before getting called up to the AHL with the Toronto Marlies. He returned to Reading Feb. 22 and has made an impact with the team.

Through 14 games with the Royals, he has scored three goals. Two of them came in a game against the Toledo Walleye that sparked a comeback March 9, showing that the enforcer has the ability to chip-in big goals.

Center Ice caught up with the 22 year old in March as the Royals were in the midst of fighting for the playoffs.

Center Ice: What did it feel like to be drafted (Round 7, 197th overall) by the Columbus Blue Jackets in 2009?
Kyle Neuber: “It was a dream come true. You play hockey as a kid, dreaming one day to make it to the big leagues, so that was like my first step.”

Center Ice: Did you receive a phone call letting you know you were drafted?
Neuber: “I was actually on the computer, clicking refresh and saw my name come up and half an hour later, I got a call from the staff and they just explained what was going on and told me where to go from there.”

Center Ice: You piled up a lot of penalty minutes in your years in juniors. When did you start to take on the role as an enforcer?
Neuber: “It happened when I was 17. I was trying to make my junior team, the Toronto St. Michael’s Majors. That’s how I got onto the team and that’s how I filled the role. That’s how I got another foot in the door.”

Center Ice: You have that physical edge to you, but you also seem to have more of an offensive flair down with Reading. Do you feel like you have a different role here?
Neuber: “Maybe my role is a little more important, but I’m not deviating from how I play in any way. I’m always getting pucks in deep, defense first, playing the body. I have a lot more ice time down here, that’s for sure. It gives an open door for offensive play.”

Center Ice: What do you think you need to do to move back up to the AHL?
Neuber:
“I’m not really worrying about that right now. I’m just worried about playing and making the playoffs here and I know that if I just play good down here, it will translate over. I don’t make that decision, so they’ll see.”

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: ECHL, Features, Ice Hockey, Sports

Subscribe & Connect

Subscribe to Candice's RSS feed and connect to her social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

