Reading Buccaneers member profile – Amanda Guistwite

This article can be found published on the Reading Buccaneers.
Amanda Guistwite performing with the Buccaneers during the 2011 season. (Reading Buccaneers)

Amanda Guistwite performing with the Buccaneers during the 2011 season. (Reading Buccaneers)

Sometimes it takes a live practice or show for a person to know what drum corps is and fall in love with the activity. For Amanda Guistwite, she was born into it, and even more so, born into the Buccaneer family.

“My mom marched with the Bucs in ’97 and ’98 and she was on staff for a year in ’99,” Guistwite said. “I grew up watching her do it and hearing her tell stories about how much she loved it. I always knew I was going to get there eventually.”

Guistwite, from Womelsforf, Pa., is an education major at West Chester University in her junior year. She focuses on the early grades from pre-K through fourth and is also working to get her ESO for education to work with English-language learners.

She also spends her time involved in musical theater in the area.

“I work with some community and regional theaters in the Reading and Ephrata areas,” Guistwite said, “And I also do a lot of choreography. I work at Antietam High School and do their musicals there every year.”

Even with all this, Guistwite was able to find the time to march in the color guard with the Buccaneers for the first time in 2011 and even won the scholarship offered by the corps at the annual end of the year banquet.

This isn’t the first time she’s been a part of a color guard.

“I have been around the activity pretty much since my mom was pregnant with me because she was teaching even then,” Guistwite said. “I did color guard all through high school, so I started officially in seventh grade. And then after I graduated, I took a couple years off and then I was with the Classics Indoor Association for a couple years, and I teach the color guard at Conrad Weiser.”

Guistwite may not have won a championship with the Buccaneers last year, but she still came away learning a great deal from the corps and the experience she had.

“Even though we didn’t win this past season, I was still beyond proud of everything that we accomplished,” she said. “I learned no matter what, you have to work hard. No matter what the situation you’re put in, do the best that you can every single time.”

Guistwite is returning for her second season in 2012 and hopes to continue with the corps for the foreseeable future.

“After next year, I’ll be student teaching, so I’m hoping I have at least two more years,” she said. “I don’t know where my job may take me someday, so I don’t know if I’ll always be in this area. But as long as I am living close enough, I will be marching every summer.”

But for now, she plans to enjoy the time she has with the Buccaneers and continue to learn valuable lessons along the way, win or lose, and apply it to all parts of her life.

“[I’m] proud of all of the hard work that I put into everything that I do,” Guistwite said. “The credit always belongs to the people who make the attempts.”

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Arts & Entertainment, Drum & Bugle Corps, Features

Subscribe & Connect

Subscribe to Candice's RSS feed and connect to her social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

