Christmas with the Reading Royals, Part II

In the second part of this holiday special, hear from more players of the Reading Royals.

Once again, thank you to the fans for participating.

*Read Part I*

No. 15 – F Dennis McCauley

(Reading Royals)

(Reading Royals)

What is the No. 1 gift on your wish list this year?
“New sneakers.”

Who would be the worst at buying gifts on the team?
“I would say Louis Liotti because he’s wicked cheap.”

What is this worst gift you’ve ever received and who did you get it from?
“I got blank CDs from my mother to burn music, but I didn’t have a computer or anything to do that so I don’t know what I was going to do with those.”

What is your favorite Christmas song?
“’All I Want for Christmas is You.’”

What was your favorite Christmas movie growing up?
“‘A Christmas Story.’ You see it a thousand times so it gets old now, but it was always a personal favorite. You have to watch it at least once every year.”

No. 16 – C Ryan Cruthers

(Reading Royals)

(Reading Royals)

What is your funniest Christmas memory?
“I don’t really know. I always had great Christmases and it was never really funny. My parents did a really great job of getting me everything I wanted and Santa Claus did that, too. My Christmases were great. Nothing really funny sticks out.”

What is this weirdest gift you’ve ever received and who did you get it from?
“The one I want to say, I can’t say. I got a sweater one time from my grandfather that I didn’t see much. He got me a soccer sweater and I never played soccer. It was the only sport I didn’t play.”

What are your holiday traditions?
“We just started one with my son. [It was] the first time we ever cut down a Christmas tree. We always had real ones, but it was the first time we ever sawed it down, so that was kind of cool. But my family has a ton of traditions. We got together, opened gifts in the morning and then usually I got some sort of hockey equipment, so I played with that all day.”

What was your favorite Christmas movie growing up?
“’Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer.’ Classic.”

If you had to pick a gift for a teammate, who would it be and what would you get them?
“It would be a muzzle for McCauley, a tissue for [Matt] Schepke and stilts for [Casey] Haines.”

No. 18 – RW Dale Mitchell

(Reading Royals)

(Reading Royals)

What is this worst gift you’ve ever received and who did you get it from?
“For me it’s socks and stuff that is not exciting. So, socks from my parents.”

What is the one food you refuse to eat at Christmas dinner?
“Beets.”

What is your favorite gift you received growing up?
“When they first came out with the one-piece Easton Synergy sticks when I was younger – that was my favorite gift because at the time everyone was using wood sticks.”

What is your favorite Christmas memory?
“Nothing in particular. Just always being able to go home and spend time with the family.”

What would you get your roommate, Karel St-Laurent, for Christmas?
“I think I would have to buy him an extra set of car keys because I don’t have my car down here. I’d have to get an extra set for myself.”

No. 24 – LW Matt Schepke

(Reading Royals)

(Reading Royals)

What are your holiday traditions?
“We always go to my aunt’s house for Christmas Eve, and then we do family dinner at my house on Christmas Day.”

What was your favorite Christmas movie growing up?
“It has to be National Lampoon’s ‘Christmas Vacation.”

What is the No. 1 gift on your wish list this year?
“I really don’t have any gifts on my wish list. I’m just happy I get to go home and spend time with my family. You don’t get to see them too often.”

Who would be the worst at buying gifts on the team?
“It would have to be one of the French guys. Love them to death, but they could be one of them.”

If you had to pick a gift for a teammate, who would it be and what would you get them?
“If I had to get anybody a gift, it would be [Rob] Kwiet. I’d get him a haircut.”

No. 33 – G Mark Owuya

(Reading Royals)

(Reading Royals)

What were the holidays like for you in Sweden?
“They were good. It’s basically the same [as the U.S.]. We don’t have stockings, that’s the difference.”

What was the best hockey-related gift you’ve ever received?
“I actually got table hockey one time. I remember that.”

Do you have any kind of holiday rap?
“Not really. We usually did a Christmas show back in school every year with me and some buddies. That’s about it, though.”

Did you ever receive pads and a blocker for Christmas?
“Reebok, I guess.”

What is this worst gift you’ve ever received and who did you get it from?
“Only got good presents.”

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: ECHL, Features, Ice Hockey, Sports

Subscribe & Connect

Subscribe to Candice's RSS feed and connect to her social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

